Skip Global navigation and goto content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote, and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, and community efforts.

Skip MegaMenu and goto content

Birth Certificates

Vital Statistics Contact Information

  •  772-794-7460



    Mailing Address

    1900 27th Street 

    Vero Beach, FL 32960 


Please take a moment and take this survey to tell us how we're doing.

Birth Certificates 

The Florida Department of Health in Indian River County's Office of Vital Statistics has a record of births and deaths for the State of Florida.  Certified copies of birth and death records (certificates) may be obtained from our office.

Obtaining a Birth Certificate

A certified birth certificate is an important legal document to be used for proof of age, social security registration, tax information, entering school, obtaining a passport or driver's license, and has many other uses. We have birth certificates for individuals born in Florida.

A written request is required for all birth certificates. They can be obtained with minimal waiting time directly from our office or you can mail or fax your request by following the guidelines below:

Written request must include the following:

  • Name as listed on birth certificate
  • Who is requesting and relationship
  • Date of birth
  • Father's name and mother's maiden name
  • Original signature of requester
  • Check or money order for the cost of the certificate (see Fees below) payable to "FDOH Indian River" or "Florida Department of Health Indian River County".  Fax orders require credit card information.
  • Photo copy of front and back of government issued ID (i.e. driver's license, passport, military, etc.).
  • Address to mail the certificate to and a telephone number.
In order to comply with statutory laws, birth certificates can only be issued to the registrant (the child named on the record) if they are of legal age (18), a parent, legal guardian following proof of guardianship or legal representative of one of these persons, or by court order. Court orders must be dated or updated within one year of issuance.

If the registrant is deceased, upon receipt of the death certificate, the birth certification can be issued to the spouse, child, grandchild, sibling (if of legal age), or a legal representative of any of these persons, as well as to the parent. The birth certificate will be stamped "Deceased".

Please NOTE: The birth certificate for a newborn is not automatically mailed to the parent after birth. The parent must apply for the birth certificate through a Vital Statistics office and pay the proper fee.

Birth certificates become public records 125 years following the birth.

Birth Certificate Application

If the applicant was not born in Florida, please visit the National Center for Health Statistics Vital Records web page to order certificates from other states.

Birth Certificate Fees

A fee of $12.00* is charged for the first copy of a birth certificate, and additional copies of the same certificate may be purchased for $10.00*, if requested at the same time. *Fees and charges may vary based upon location and are subject to change without notice. Please contact our office at (772) 794-7460 for current fee information. 

Checks are accepted and should be made payable to "FDOH Indian River" or "Florida Department of Health Indian River County".

All fax orders must be accompanied with credit card information.  All major credit cards are accepted.


1900 27th Street (2nd floor)
Vero Beach, FL 32960
Ph: 772-794-7460 / Fax: 772-794-7443


Monday - Friday: 8:00am - 4:30pm
*The health department closes periodically for training. For assistance with birth or death certificates when we are closed for training, please contact the Florida Department of Health in St. Lucie County's Vital Statistics office at 772-873-4932 open 8am - 4pm or the Florida Department of Health in Brevard County's Vital Statistics Office at 321-454-7163 open 8am - 4pm.

Additional Information

Additional information on vital records and certificates can be found at the State of Florida Certificates web page.

Note: this page contains materials in the Portable Document Format (PDF). The free Adobe Acrobat Reader may be required to view these files.