
APPLICATION FOR A FLORIDA DEATH RECORD 
Florida Department of Health in Indian River County 

1900 27th Street, Vera Beach, FL 32960-3383 
TEL (772) 794-7460 FAX (772)794-7443 

Open Monday - Friday 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM 

DEATH CERTIFICATES ARE AVAILABLE FROM 2009 TO PRESENT. 

MAIL 
ORDER 
ONLY 

Previous years may be obtained from the Office of Vital Statist ics in Jacksonvill e. FOlllls are available at wwwfloridahealthgov 

Read the FRONT AND BACK of this application: Anyone may apply for a death C€rtification Vvtien cause of death information is also requested and the 
death occurred less than 50 years ago, a valid photo identification must accompany this application or if a mail request, a copy of the valid photo 
identification, front & back. must be provided; AND the applicant OR person being represented must be an eligible person as ou~ined in statute (see 
Eligibility on the bock of this fOIlll) Relationship to the decedent must be entered in the space provided at the bottom of this fOIlll when request ing cause of 
death If applicant is a funeral director or an attomey, see additional infollllabon under Eligibility on back of th is form to ensure proper completion of th is 
application 
Acceptable forms of valid ID are. driver's license, state identification card, passport, and/or military ID card. V\.tien requesting a death certi fi cation 
without cause of death OR if the death occurred over50 ears prior to the request , photo identification is not required 

SECTION A: DECEDENT INFORMATION 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX 
NAME OF DECEDENT 

I 
IF MARRIED FEMALE, MAIDEN SURNAME (if known) m 

ALIAS NAME (IF APPLICABLE) 

MONTH I ""' I YEAR(4_DIGIT) 

I 
Indicate the range of years to be searched 

ADDITIONAL YEARS TO BE SE ARCHED DATE OF DEATH (R equ ired .Q!21£. when ", act year of death is 1lQ1 known) 

PLACE OF DEATH CITY OR TOWN 

I 
PLACE OF DEATH COUNTY 

I 
STATE FLE NUMBER (ifkn O'Wt1) 

PLACE OF DEATH 

NAME OF SURVIVING SPOUSE AS FIRST MIDDLE LAST I SUFFIX 
RECORDED ON DEATH RECORD 

if a licab., and if knO'Wt1 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER FUNERAL HOME NAME 

(if knO'Wt1) (if known) 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida 

Statutes, or on any application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, 
commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775 Florida Statutes. 

SECTION B: APPLICANT INFORMATION 

If requesbng cause of death, all applcanfs must state their relationship to the decedent: if a funeral director or an attorney, you must enter the 
relationship of the person you represen t Eligibility requirements are provided on the back of th is form 

Applicant's I FIRST, MIDDLE, LA.ST (INCLUDI NG ANY SUFFIX) 

I 
SIGNATURE OF APPLI CANT 

Name 
TYPE OR PRINT 

HOME PHONE NUMBER MAILING ADDRESS (I NCLUDE APT NO ,IF APPLI CABLE) 

I 
RELA.TIONSHIP TO DECEDENT 

( ) 
ALTERNATE PHONE NUM BER CITY 

I 
STATE 

I 
liP CODE 

( ) 

Funeral Director/Attorney as Applicant LlCENSEIBAR NUMBER 

I 
NAME OF PERSON REPRESENTED '"' I THEIR RELA. TIONSHIP TO DECEDENT ,,, 

Cause of Death Infonnalion 

Char e: 9 Quanti ty 
FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY 

---- X $12.00 With Cause of Death ----
DATE· _________ _ 

--- X $12.00 Without Cause of Death ----
IDENTIFICATION' __ _ 

(If Year is not known) 

---- X $3.00 Per Year Research Fee ----
CERTIFICATE#'S· ____________________ _ 

(If Funeral Home OR By Phone) 

--- X $5.00 Same Day Exp Fee ----
PAYMENT TYPE: 

--- X $15.00 Overnight Delivery ---- ____ CHECK # _________ _ 

VA --- ----
____ MONEy ORDER# ______ _ 

TOTAL 

D Check here ifcertification(s) are to be mailed to a different add ress Space is provided on the reverse of this application for indicating the 
nAmA Anrl Arlrlmss of IhA oArson who is 10 mrArvA IhA rArti /irAlions 
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INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS 

AVAILABILITY: Death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however, it was many years before we had consistent 
registration. While there are some records on file dating back to 1877, not all events were registered. 

ELIGIBILITY: 

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a death certification without the cause of death. 

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION: Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant 
Death records less than 50 years old with the cause of death information included may only be issued to the following 
individuals: 

• Decedent's spouse or parent; 
• Decedent's child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age; 
• Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the 

estate of the decedent, OR 
• Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above named persons. 

Requests for a death certification that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility, or a 
notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959), which is available upon request If after reading the 
above information you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our office (904) 359-6900 
extension 9000 for assistance. 

A funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional license number, 
and the name and relationship of the person they are representing, if requesting cause of death. If not representing someone 
identified above as eligible to receive cause of death information, then a completed Affidavit to Release Cause of Death 
Information (DH 1959) must accompany this request SPECIAL NOTE: Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record 
with cause of death information included when filing probate. 

INFORMATION NEEDED: A search cannot be made without the decedent's name and year of death. If any of the other items 
requested on the front of this form are unavailable, other identifying information (such as parents' names, birthplace, etc) may 
be helpful if multiple records are found for common names. 

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE: Applicant's signature is required, as well as his/her name, valid residence address and telephone 
number. 

IF THE CERTIFICA TION IS TO BE MAILED TO ANOTHER PERSON OR ADDRESS, 

USE THE SPACES BELOW TO SPECIFY SHIP TO NAME AND ADDRESS. 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT 
SHIP TO NAME: 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX 

HOME PHONE NUMBER SHIP TO STREET ADDRESS (AND APT.) 

( ) 
WORK PHONE NUMBER CITY STATE ZIP 

( ) 

PLEASE VISIT THE OFFICE OF VITAL STATISTICS WEBSITE 

www.floridahealth.gov 
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